On air now:

Up Next:

On air Now:

Peak District and Derbyshire Tourism Awards nominations open.

Following a challenging year for the tourism and hospitality industry there will be a cause for celebration when applications for the Peak District & Derbyshire Tourism Awards open next month.

Organised for the second year by Marketing Peak District & Derbyshire, the area’s official destination management organisation, the awards recognise excellence and outstanding achievement in the Peak District and Derbyshire’s tourism sector.

Applications will be open from 16th July to 19th September 2021, with 13 core categories covering different aspects of the visitor economy – from attractions and accommodation providers to traditional pubs and unique experiences.

To celebrate the exceptional work undertaken by the sector in response to the Covid-19 pandemic, two new core categories have been introduced for the 2022 awards: the Unsung Hero Award and the Resilience and Innovation Award. Marketing Peak District & Derbyshire has also added two new local awards – the Team of the Year Award and Tourism Young Achiever Award – to champion the ‘people behind the businesses’ and to recognise the thousands of local jobs supported by the tourism industry.

To help entrants, Marketing Peak District & Derbyshire is hosting two online workshops delivered by multi-award-winning tourism business Hoe Grange Holidays.

Entrants will be given tips on completing applications and what judges will be looking for – and will also receive application forms ahead of the official open date. The workshops, on 29 June and 8 July, can be booked through the Visit Peak District website.

This year’s awards are supported by the European Regional Development Fund and C W Sellors Fine Jewellery & Luxury Watches, who will be designing and handcrafting luxury bespoke awards for all Gold winners.

Jo Dilley, Managing Director of Marketing Peak District & Derbyshire, said: “After such a challenging year for our industry, the Peak District & Derbyshire Tourism Awards present a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the area’s many innovative and resilient tourism businesses, and the hardworking teams behind them.

“These awards are a celebration of the visitor economy and never has our sector been more deserving of some cheerleading and recognition. We look forward to honouring all the brilliant local businesses who continuously strive for excellence, ensuring visitors have the most rewarding and memorable experiences when they visit the Peak District and Derbyshire.”

Chris Sellors, Managing Director of C W Sellors Fine Jewellery & Luxury Watches, said: “As a Derbyshire-based business, we’re proud to be shining a light on some of the most successful and committed tourism businesses in the area, who are a great reflection of the quality on offer here in the Peak District and Derbyshire.

“We look forward to presenting the Gold winners with their luxury awards and wish all applicants the very best of luck.”

The full list of categories is below:

  • B&B and Guest House of the Year
  • Hotel of the Year
  • Camping, Glamping and Holiday Park of the Year
  • Self Catering Accommodation of the Year
  • Visitor Attraction of the Year
  • Pub of the Year
  • Experience of the Year
  • New Tourism Business of the Year
  • Taste of the Peak District & Derbyshire Award
  • Accessible and Inclusive Tourism Award
  • Ethical, Responsible and Sustainable Tourism Award
  • Unsung Hero Award NEW
  • Resilience and Innovation Award NEW
  • Team of the Year Award NEW (Local Award)
  • Tourism Young Achiever Award NEW (Local Award)

For more details on the categories and how to enter, please go to the Visit Peak District website.

The Peak District & Derbyshire Tourism Awards are free to enter for current members of Marketing Peak District & Derbyshire. Non-members can enter at a fee of £75 plus VAT per category. Applications open at 09:00 on 16 July 2021 and close at 23:59 on 19 September 2021. Entrants must be based in Derbyshire or within the Peak District National Park boundary and must be part of the visitor economy.

Applications will be judged by a panel of experts in the autumn. Those shortlisted will be notified in October, with winners announced at a prestigious awards ceremony in early 2022. Gold winners from each of the 13 core categories will automatically be put forward into the 2022 VisitEngland Awards for Excellence, which represent the highest accolades in English tourism.

Scroll to Top